Here are the most used Standards and their revision status:

ISO 9001: 2008

The Quality Management Standard – Probably the most recognisable standard throughout the world.

Currently being rewritten and is scheduled to be issued in third quarter 2015.    Early drafts show that this is a major revision and will probably have a three year transition from date of issue.

ISO 14001: 2004

The Environmental Management Standard – now under review for scheduled publication during 2015. It was originally planned to be issued in 2104, but there were a number of major issues raised in the first committee draft.  It was decided that further review should take place.  It is anticipated that there will be at least a two year transition period from the date of publication.

ISO 27001: 2013

The Information Security Management Standard – Reissued in September of 2013.  This recent issue brings the Standard up to date.   There is a two year transition period from the 25 September 2013 publication.

The transition arrangements – New applicants may choose to be assessed to the 2005 standard up to 24 September 2014 or go straight to the 2013 Standard, once the certification bodies have been accredited to the new Standard.   Existing 27001 certificate holders can choose to keep to the 2005 Standard but must transition to the 2013 Standard by 24 September 2015; failure to do this will mean that the 27001 certificate is withdrawn.

OHSAS 18001:2007

The Occupational Health and Safety Standard – This standard is current and we are not aware of any changes planned.

AS 9100:2009

The Aerospace and Defence Standard – This standard is based on the 9001 standard and it is possible that this will be updated, but we are not aware of any plans to do this.

ISO 20000:2011

The IT Service Management Standard – Updated in 2011; this is a huge standard and take up has been slow.   To put this standard into perspective, one clause requires the organisation to have an information security management system in place!!

ISO 22000: 2005

The Food Safety Standard – Last updated in 2005.  No plans to update this Standard but some of the subsidiary Standards 22002-6 are under review.

There are, of course a number of Standards that we have not mentioned but are available for certification.  We will keep you advised as we learn about developments.

The official blog for independent Management Training
Consultancy, Quality Matters Limited.
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *