The changes in both ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 to the 2015 versions have meant that internal auditors will need to update their knowledge in order to be able to audit these revised standards.

Most auditors who carry out continual professional development will know that all management standards issued since 2102 follow the revised format Annex SL, which has 10 identical clauses.

Annex SL is designed to make it easier to integrate management standards and provide a stable framework for users.

We at Quality Matters have been burning the midnight oil preparing revised internal audit courses to meet the new requirements.  There are a couple of places still available on our 22 + 23 October 2015 course to be held in Colchester, Essex.

Our course covers:

  • ISO 9001:2015 – Quality Management
  • ISO 45001:2015 – Environmental Management
  • A preview of ISO 45001:2016 – Occupational Health & Safety Management (was BS OHSAS 18001)
  • ISO 27001:2013 Information Security Management
  • ISO 500001:2011 – Energy Management
  • As well as Auditing information, Techniques, Practices and Actual Audit in role play.
  • All delegates receive a comprehensive audit course manual and a certificate of success.

Both ISO 9001 and ISO 14001 systems must transition to the 2015 versions during the three year transition period or risk having their certification withdrawn by Certification Bodies.

The official blog for independent Management Training
Consultancy, Quality Matters Limited.

The ISO 9000 Quality Management series of Standards, although revised together in 2000 now have different revision dates.
Currently :

  • ISO9000 Vocabulary and Fundamentals re-issued in 2005
  • ISO9001 Quality Management Standard Requirements re-issued in 2008
  • ISO9004 Guidelines for quality improvement is still at the original 2000 issue

That is about to change as 9004 is reaching the final stages before publication at the end of 2009. In addition to the re issue it has changed fundamentally; it will be called  ISO9004:2009 – Managing for the sustained success of an organisation – A Quality Management Approach, and has a different structure to 9001.

Both ISO9001 and 9004 were originally designed as a consistent pair of standards, but this link has now been broken with 9004 using the principle that retaining ISO9001 certification might need additional elements to be introduced to maintain the continual improvements needed for growth and success. 

However, it should be remembered that 9001 is the Standard for certification and 9004 will never be assessed and certificated.

The new 9004 (subject of course to and final changes) will have the following main sections:

  • Managing for the sustained success of an organization
  • Strategy for policy formulation, planning and development
  • Resource management
  • Process management
  • Monitoring, measurement, analysis and review
  • Improvement, innovation, and learning
The official blog for independent Management Training
Consultancy, Quality Matters Limited.